Assam University

Assam University came into existence in 1994 after enactment of the Assam (Central) University Act 1989. Through its pursuit, Assam University is in the process of making itself an institute of excellence.

Assam University main campus is situated at Dargakona, about 20 kms away from Silchar. The campus is set amid sprawling hillocks and typical landscape of north east. The campus is spread over 600 acres and provide an ideal environment for the researchers, students and the people interested in academic excellence. The other campus of the university is situated at Diphu in the district of Karbi Anglong, Assam.

The university has the territorial jurisdiction over the five districts of Assam viz., Cachar, Karimganj, Hailakandi, Dima Hasao (erstwhile North Cachar Hills) and Karbi Anglong. 

Assam University being a central university hosts a national characteristics of unity in diversity. Faculties, staff and students hail from all over the country. International students also find this institution an ideal centre for pursuing their academic endeavour.


Phone No



Assam University , Silchar - 788 011, Assam, India



Prof. Dilip Chandra Nath

Prof. Dilip Chandra Nath

Vice Chancellor.






Silchar, Assam, India


The major teaching schools of the university along with the departments under them are:

  • Abanindranath Tagore School of Creative Arts and Communication Studies
    • Department of Mass Communication
    • Department of Visual Arts
    • Department of Performing Arts
  • Albert Einstein School of Physical Science
    • Department of Chemistry
    • Department of Physics
    • Department of Mathematics
    • Department of Statistics
    • Department of Computer Science
  • Aryabhatta School of Earth Sciences
    • Department of Earth Sciences
  • Ashutosh Mukhopadhyay School of Education
    • Department of Educational Science
  • Deshabandhu Chittaranjan School of Legal Studies
    • Department of Law
  • E. P. Odam School of Environmental Sciences
    • Department of Ecology and Environmental Science
  • Hargobind Khurana School of Life Sciences
    • Department of Life Science & Bioinformatics
    • Department of Biotechnology
    • Department of Microbiology
  • Jadunath Sarkar School of Social Sciences
    • Department of Anthropology
    • Department of History
    • Department of Political Science
    • Department of Social Work
    • Department of Sociology
  • Jawaharlal Nehru School of Management Studies
    • Department of Business Administration
  • Mahatma Gandhi School of Economics and Commerce
    • Department of Commerce
    • Department of Economics
  • Rabindranath Tagore School of Indian Languages and Cultural Studies
    • Department of Arabic
    • Department of Bengali
    • Department of Hindi
    • Department of Indian Comparative Literature
    • Department of Linguistics
    • Department of Manipuri
    • Department of Bengali
    • Department of Sanskrit
  • Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan School of Philosophy
    • Department of Philosophy
  • Shushrutu School of Medical and Paramedical Sciences
    • Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Suniti Kumar Chattopadhyay School of English and Foreign Language Studies
    • Department of English
    • Department of Arabic
    • Department of French
    • Department of Linguistics
    • Department of Comparative Studies
    • Department of Urdu
  • Swami Vivekananda School of Library Sciences
    • Department of Library & Information Science
  • Triguna Sen School of Technology
    • Department of Agricultural Engineering
    • Department of Computer Science & Engineering
    • Department of Electronics & Communication Engineering
    • Department of Applied Science & Humanities