Tezpur University

Tezpur University is a Central University located in Tezpur in the North Eastern state of Assam, India, established by an act of Parliament, in 1994.

The establishment of Tezpur University is considered to be one of the outcomes of the Assam Accord, along with the establishment of Assam University and Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati.

Tezpur University was established, by an Act of Parliament, in 1994. The then prime minister of India, P. V. Narasimha Rao, chaired the opening of the university.

Initially, the university operated from the premises of the Darrang College, in Tezpur. For a while, it also operated from the Tezpur Law College premises. Land was acquired at Napaam, a suburb, which is about 15 km (9.3 mi) east of Tezpur, area totalling 262 acres (106 ha). Few months later, the premises of the University was shifted to the present permanent location.

Kalaguru Bishnuprasad Rava (Rabha) donated an ancestral estate of 2500 bigha of land received from the British government in favour of the peasants. The present-day Tezpur University stands on the land donated by him. Recently, in 2013, the university acquired an additional plot of land, extending the current plot


Phone No



Tezpur University, Napaam-784028, Assam, India



Professor Vinod Kumar Jain

Vice Chancellor.



विज्ञानं यज्ञं तनुते


21 January 1994


Tezpur, Assam, India


Schools and departments

The university has four schools of studies which is divided into 27 departments and additional centers and cells.

  • School of Sciences
  • School of Humanities & Social Sciences
  • School of Management Sciences
  • School of Engineering

The School of Sciences is divided into six departments, which provides undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in Science and carry on research in science and mathematics.

  • Department of Chemical Science
  • Department of Mathematical Science
  • Department of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
  • Department of Pharmacy
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Environmental Science

The School of Humanities & Social Sciences provides education as well as diploma, undergraduate, postgraduate, and research programmes related to humanities and social sciences in the following departments:

  • Department of Assamese
  • Department of Cultural Studies
  • Department of English
  • Department of Foreign Languages
  • Department of Mass Communication and Journalism
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Social Work
  • Department of Law

Department of Business Administration, Tezpur University

The School of Management Sciences provides education as well as diploma, undergraduate, postgraduate, and research programs related to business management in the following departments:

  • Department of Business Administration
  • Department of Commerce
  • Centre for Disaster Management

Department of Computer Science and Engineering

The School of Engineering offers courses in engineering and technology. The offering masters and BTech programmes in the various disciplines. Admission to the BTech programs is on the basis of JEE (Main). Besides BTech and MTech programs, School of Engineering, the university provides PhD programs in specialized fields.

  • Department of Computer Science & Engineering
  • Department of Design
  • Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Department of Food Engineering and Technology
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of Physics

Special centres and cells

  • Centre for Endangered Languages (CFEL)
  • Centre for Inclusive Development (CID)
  • Centre for Innovation Incubation and Entrepreneurship(CIIE)
  • Teaching and Learning Centre (TLC)
  • Centre for Women Studies (CWS)
  • Research & Development (R & D) Cell
  • Intellectual Property Rights (IPR) Cell
  • DBT Nodal Centre
  • ONGC Centre for Petroleum Biotechnology (CPBT)
  • Bioinformatics Infrastructure Facility (BIF)
  • Institutional Biotech Hub
  • Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC)