Gauhati University

Gauhati University also known as GU located in Jalukbari, Guwahati, is the oldest university in Northeast India. It was established in 1948. It is a teaching-&-affiliating university.

It is accredited grade “A” by National Assessment and Accreditation Council. Starting with 18 affiliated colleges and 8 Post Graduate Departments in 1948, Gauhati University, today, has 39 Post Graduate Departments, besides IDOL (Institute of Distance and Open Learning), a constituent Law and Engineering College. It has 341 affiliated colleges offering undergraduate and post graduate courses in the faculties of Arts, Science, Commerce, Law, and Engineering. Gauhati University is a member of the Association of Indian Universities and the Association of Commonwealth Universities.

Gauhati University

Phone No


Jalukbari, Guwahati,



Pratap Jyoti Handique



Vidyayo Sadhayeta




Guwahati, Assam, India

Organisation and administration


The G.U. Court, The Executive Council, and The Academic Council are the authorities of the University.


The institution is divided into following academic units:
  • Faculty of Arts
    • Arabic
    • Assamese
    • Bengali
    • Bodo
    • Communication and Journalism
    • Disabilities Studies
    • Economics
    • Education
    • English
    • English Language Teaching (Note: This subject is not recognised by the UGC for National Eligibility Test.)
    • Folklore
    • Foreign Languages
    • Hindi
    • History
    • Geography
    • Library and Information Science
    • Linguistics
    • Modern Indian Languages (Odia, Tamil, Nepali)
    • Persian
    • Philosophy
    • Political Science
    • Philosophy
    • Sanskrit
    • Sociology
    • Women’s Studies
  • Faculty of Sciences
    • Anthropology
    • Botany
    • Chemistry
    • Environmental Science
    • Geography
    • Geological Sciences
    • Mathematics
    • Physics
    • Statistics
    • Zoology
  • Faculty of Technology
    • Biological Science
    • Biotechnology
    • Biotechnology and Bioengineering
    • Chemical Science
    • Computer Science
    • Electronics and Communication Engineering
    • Information Technology
    • Instrumentation and USIC
    • Mathematical Science
    • Physical Science
  • Faculty of Commerce
    • Commerce
  • Faculty of Management
    • Business Administration
  • Faculty of Law
    • Law