Sri Sri Aniruddhadeva Sports University

Sri Sri Aniruddhadeva Sports University is named after a great Vaishnava saint who was a social reformer in Assam during the medieval period. This is the first sports university in the north east region of India established by the Government of Assam in the city of Chabua, Dibrugarh. The university is focused on quality education in the area of sport sciences, physical education and its allied areas. It was established by the Act of Assam Legislative Assembly (No. LGL. 164/2018/7) which received the assent of the Hon’ble Governor of Assam on 10th December 2018. The primary aim of this university is to prepare top tier sports scientists, physical educationists and sports coaches and high-class researchers in the area of sport psychology, exercise science, sport bio-mechanics, sport medicine, sport physiotherapy and health education, sport technology and sport analytics. We are preparing professionals as well sport entrepreneurs keeping in mind the competitive global job market. The university also plans to create world level infrastructures for training elite athletes for enhancing medal tallies for India in international sport competitions. At the same time it intends to reach out to the people of Assam and from neighbouring states for garnering untapped talent. Through its outreach programmes, the university will be encouraging the masses to be physically active and making sport as a way of life. Sri Sri Aniruddhadeva Sports University intends to be at the epicentre of sports development in Assam and help the state contribute to India becoming the sporting powerhouse of the world.

Phone No

0373 295 0466 | 88764 85869


Sri Sri Aniruddhadeva Sports University DICC Building, 2nd Floor Near District Library Dibrugarh, Assam - 786003



Prof.J. P. Verma






Chabua, Assam, India


The university offers four-year undergraduate program in Physical Education-BPEd (Hons) course from academic year 2020–21, with exit points after the completion of one, two or three years, which award a certificate, diploma or bachelors degree, respectively, per the National Education Policy 2020.