Mahapurusha Srimanta Sankaradeva Viswavidyalaya

Mahapurusha Srimanta Sankaradeva (1449-1568) was a multi-dimensional genius, who transformed and modernized Assamese society with his egalitarian ideology. He worked in diverse fields like religion, literature, music, dance, drama, architecture, social reconstruction, etc. He translated most part of the Bhagavata Mahapurana into Assamese language and was the first ever playwright in any Indian language other than Sanskrit. He wrote more than 26 (twenty six) scriptures mostly in Assamese language besides the Brajawali form and one in Sanskrit. In addition he had composed many lyrics/songs including the Borgeets. All these justify to call him SARVAGUNAKARA by his most loyal disciple Madhabadeva. His philosophy too was unique and different from other branches of Hindu philosophies. Above all he was a humanist. He welcomed every one irrespective of caste, creed, sex into his order. He was also a pioneer in adult education, mass communication, etc. He called upon the society to educate women and the downtrodden people.

Mahapurusha Srimanta Sankaradeva Viswavidyalaya

Phone No



Mahapurusha Srimanta Sankaradeva Viswavidyalaya Srimanta Sankardeva Sangha Complex Haladhar Bhuyan Path, Kalongpar, Nagaon, PIN-782 001, Assam, India



Mahapurusha Srimanta Sankaradeva Viswavidyalaya

Hitesh Deka, Ph.D.



To impart value-oriented education with humanistic insight in diverse fields of study so that the learners become morally strong, intellectually efficient, socially committed, spiritually inspired to take part in the process of inclusive, sustainable growth and engage in the socio-cultural rejuvenation of lives.




Nagaon, Assam, India


The university comprises the following departments:

In Nagaon campus

  • Department of Assamese
  • Department of Computer Application
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Education
  • Department of English
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Sankaradeva Studies

In Guwahati campus

  • Department of English
  • Department of Juridical Studies
  • Department of Performing Arts
  • Department of Social Work
  • Department of Yogic Science & Naturopathy